City Butterfly

Congratulations are in order
It was no typical, hum-drum Monday night in the Electric City this week.
Instead, it was a night of fabulous celebration featuring a regular who’s who of northeastern Pennsylvania inside the beautiful Mellow Theater at Lackawanna College at the Chamber Gala. The Greater Scranton Chamber of Commerce and MetroAction announced the winners of the 2012 SAGE Awards (Scranton Awards for Growth and Excellence), and there were more than a few familiar faces in the crowd and winners’ circle.
Of course, Austin Burke, president of The Greater Scranton Chamber of Commerce, Natalie O’Hara, president of MetroAction, and Paula Mackarey, chairwoman of the Chamber Board, were on hand for gala festivities. The evening marked the culmination of a tremendous amount of work for Chamber staff and board members. For those who may not be familiar with how the SAGE awards work, recipients are chosen by judging committees comprised of 42 volunteer judges. The only award that wasn’t determined in this fashion was the People’s Choice Award, which was selected through an online popular vote.
Among the winners who have been featured in the pages of electric city and diamond city were our friends from Sculpted Ice Works in Lakeville, who won top honors for Best Practices in Technology & Innovation and they also won Small Business of the Year. Their work has been featured at numerous community events in the area, including the Clarks Summit Festival of Ice and past First Night Scranton celebrations, just to name a few.
Another familiar group that left the theater smiling was the Greater Scranton Jaycees. The Jaycees earned the Hometown Star award for the Greater Scranton Jaycees Santa Parade. The win couldn’t come at a better time for the group that will celebrate the parade’s 20th anniversary on Saturday in downtown Scranton. This year’s steering committee for the parade includes Christopher Beeman, Susan Luchko, Robin Luchko, Tom Osborne, Tom Fritz, Amanda Clare, Elizabeth Shechner, Chris Falls, Mellody Swinick, Mike Galacher, Katie Oakley and Colleen Joyce.
Other stars of the night included: PPL Electric, Scranton (Best Practices in Community Involvement and People’s Choice Award); Pennstar Bank, Scranton (Best Practices in Customer Service); Tobyhanna Army Depot, Tobyhanna (Best Practices in Professional Development); Halibut Blue Advertising, Forty Fort (Best Practices in Marketing & Communications); Green Field Energy Solutions, Greenfield Township (Green Practices); Astro Apparel, Inc., Scranton (Healthy Workplace of the Year in Continuing Excellence); Paper Magic Group, a division of CSS Industries, Moosic (Healthy Workplace of the Year); Lavelle Strategy Group, Scranton (New & Emerging Business of the Year); Voluntary Action Center, Scranton (Non-Profit Organization of the Year); United Neighborhood Centers: Willow Apartments, Scranton (Pride & Progress: Exterior Renovations); The Palumbo Group: Nazareth Student Center, Marywood University, Scranton (Pride & Progress: Interior Renovations); Lackawanna County: Moosic Boundless Playground, Moosic (Pride & Progress: Landscape & Site Design); Quandel Construction Group and The University of Scranton: Loyola Science Center, Scranton (Pride & Progress: New Construction and Project of the Year); Maggie Calpin, Nibbles & Bits, Scranton (Solo-Preneur of the Year); Dr. Ann Pipinski, Johnson College, Scranton (Woman of Excellence); and Katrina Foster, KKPR Marketing & Public Relations, Milford (Young Entrepreneur of the Year).

— cb

Do you have social news
you’d like to share with City Butterfly?
Email citybutterfly@timesshamrockcom